FORMATION OF THE ENTOMOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF CANADA

At the eighty-seventh annual meeting of the Entomological Society of Ontario, held at Guelph on November 1–3, 1950, it was decided to form a national society, to be called the Entomological Society of Canada. The new society will serve as a link between the various regional societies, namely, the Acadian Entomological Society, the Entomological Society of Ontario, the Entomological Society of Manitoba, the Entomological Society of British Columbia, the proposed entomological society of Quebec, and others that may be established. THE CANADIAN ENTOMOLOGIST will be published jointly by the Ontario and the national societies, Dr. W. R. Thompson continuing as Editor, with Dr. G. C. Ullyett as Associate Editor.

W. A. Ross, Division of Entomology, Ottawa, was elected President and Professor A. W. Baker, Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, Vice-President. R. H. Wigmore and A. B. Baird, Division of Entomology, Ottawa, have been named Secretary and Treasurer respectively. The Directors comprise the presidents of the regional societies, namely, D. D. Pond, Fredericton, N.B.; W. N. Keenan, Ottawa, Ont.; C. A. Smith, Winnipeg, Man.; and Prof. G. J. Spencer, Vancouver, B.C.; as well as Father O. Fournier, President, Montreal Branch of the Entomological Society of Ontario; Dr. C. W. Farstad, Dominion Entomological Laboratory, Lethbridge, Alta.; and Dr. A. S. West, Queen's University, Kingston, Ont.

The annual meeting of the national society will always be held jointly with the annual meeting of one of the regional societies. In 1951, the combined meetings will be held at Ottawa.—W. A. Ross.